Southern Simplicity :: Cherry Pie….Pleaseee

The way to a man’s heart or anybody’s really, is great FOOD!  At the Cole house, we DO like our Southern cookin’!  I grew up in a very small town called Tulia, which is located  in the Northern part of Texas.  When I moved to Austin, people thought I was from the sticks of Tennessee , Louisiana, South Carolina, you name it…everywhere but the Panhandle:)  I didn’t even think I had a Southern accent…boy I was wrong!  I came from a family of six.  I was the youngest and had three OLDER brothers. My Southern momma is an excellent cook!  She can make your heart sing with her delicious bites of excellence!!!  I think…a real cook…just makes up their own recipes as they are in the throws of a master piece…….!  a sign of a great cook!  Why I think this? Because my momma could never really tell me her recipes……just of a pinch here and a dash there and a cup of love all mixed up somewhere in the attempt to write down the ingredients:)  Some of my most wonderful memories were based on FOOD!  When she would make or bake anything….it was always in huge portions!  The reason for this… my family could put it away!  My brothers and father could eat two loaves of bread in a day, a gallon of milk in a day and if momma made a pie…she would make 2-3 of them and guess what…they would all be ate in a day!

Well, now that I’ve been feeding my family with great Southern cookin’ for almost 30 years….I get my momma’s love to FEED people!  I love to watch my husband eat, my son eat, my daughters eat and now my son-in-law!!!  It is not only rewarding to the recipients of the food, but the presenter!

One of my things in life that I am determined to master, is HOMEMADE crust!  Early in our marriage, I just wanted to make my husband’s heart sing(just like I was taught as a young Southern bride:) and try my hand at pies!  I would over work the dough every time! It was just  like eating cardboard. Pies with homemade crust are my momma’s specialty!  I just figured that this was not my THANG!  I would just let Momma make the best pies and I would just continue to use the store bought stuff(don’t get me wrong, that is pretty close to the real thing, but not quite).

My son-in-law is the lover of pies!  His momma makes the best chocolate pie!  I decided never to try to replicate that one….EVER!  That was special to him and her and I wanted to keep it that way!  Besides all that….I could never do it justice!  He not only loves chocolate pie…but EVERY pie that you can imagine. Well, he got his nerve up to ask me to make a Cherry Pie!  How could I turn him down?   All I can say is….WOW!  That really was delicious and I think that I got this THANG now!  Crust doesn’t scare me anymore and I can’t wait to make another!!!!!

Here’s the recipe:

Crust

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter cut into small pieces(or if you use salted butter, omit salt)

3 tablespoons chilled solid vegetable shortening, cut into small pieces

4 tablespoons(or more) ice water

preparation for crust


Blend flour, sugar, and salt in processor. Add butter and shortening:, using on/off turns, cut in until mixture resembles a coarse meal.  Drizzle 4 tablespoons ice water over mixture.  Process just until moist clumps form, adding more ice water by teaspoonfuls if dough is dry.  Gather dough into ball: flatten into disk.  Wrap in foil or plastic and Chill about 30 minutes.

Unwrap dough and flour the foil or plastic.  Using a rolling-pin, make dough about 14 inch in diameter.  Transfer dough into 9-inch pie dish.  Crimp edges(this is what is so much fun….it doesn’t have to be perfect:)  Pierce bottom of crust all over with fork.

Don’t double this recipe…you will need to make 2 portions of dough for this pie.

Cherry Filling

ingredients

2 cans of cherry pie filling

1 teaspoon of almond extract

1/2 cup of love(sugar)

Fill the pie crust and then cut a few pats of butter on top of filling.  Use the 2nd portion of dough and cut into strips for lattice or place another 14-inch round on top of filling and crimp together.  Make slits for it to breath!

Take 1 egg white and brush onto lattice strips or the top crust.  Sprinkle with sugar!!

Bake @ 350 for 40-45 minutes!  It may bubble…so be sure to put it on a cookie sheet!!

ENJOY this Southern deliciousness!!!

This is a great idea for a wedding in place of a wedding cake!

See more from this beautiful wedding over on Cappy’s blog.

3 thoughts on “Southern Simplicity :: Cherry Pie….Pleaseee

Leave a Reply

