FROM THE GARDEN :: ROSES, ROSES, ROSES…WHAT A KNOCK-OUT!

I love beautiful roses! What is more fitting with a plantation styled house than roses.  When we began to landscape for our business, The Plantation House, we planted a lot of different variety of roses…English tea roses, Don Juan climbing roses, hybrid roses…in all colors peach, pink, yellow and red.  They were lovely the first year with beautiful blooms and foliage…but from then on…they have been trouble.  They would get this ugly black beetle bug that you couldn’t see until they suck the life right out of the flower and then they would unveil themselves right smack dab in the middle of the bloom.They would get black spot based on the amount of God’s sweet rain that we would receive…which is a nightmare in itself(not the rain, but the blackened leaves)!  Needless to say….very disease-ridden and quite hard to grow! I was determined to keep alive by treating with fungus control, bug control and every other CONTROL you could think of!  I didn’t feel like a very good gardener at all, what was I thinking?

Back in 2007, when my daughter, Joanna decided to get married to Tanner King, my husband and I started to think of ways to change-up the landscape a bit for her wedding.  My very Southern and quite the Master Gardener in her own right, my precious momma..Joann Hayhurst, told us about these wonderful roses that she had come across.  They were disease resistant, heavy bloomers, no dead-heading required….basically, plant and hit play!  My kind of roses!!!!  They were called Knock Out roses.  We were a little timid, since she lives in the Panhandle of Texas and they have different climate as well as different soil….but I was willing to try this amazing sounding roses regardless of my luck! Well, lets just say…Momma knows best:)

Knock Out roses have only been on the market since 2000.  They are truly one of my favorite plants in our garden!I can sit and rock on the front porch and drink my coffee and just marvel in their knock out beauty:)   There are a couple of varieties……I planted Double Knock Outs for their true look of a rose.  Single Knock Outs will have a lower petal count,  but are gorgeous too!  I have since found out that there are other lines of these disease resistant roses in Flower Carpet, Easy Elegance and David Austin garden roses!  I can’t wait to get my hands on these!!! An amazing read on these incredible roses can be found in this month’s issue May 2012 in Better Homes and Gardens. I highly recommend!(page 96:)

Enjoy a few of these photos from the amazing Knock Out Roses!!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

7 thoughts on “FROM THE GARDEN :: ROSES, ROSES, ROSES…WHAT A KNOCK-OUT!

  1. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL PLANTATION YOU HAVE AND THE ROSES ARE OUTSTANDING….My daughter Debbie tells me how pretty your place is and she is right …..Jeri

Leave a Reply

